And that’s the way it is … Walter Cronkite

Walter Cronkite, right at home.

Also known as “Walter Wilcox” during the earlier years.

Cronkite (far right) as a reporter during WWII with US Army Air Forces flying bombing raids across Germany.

In my opinion the world’s most pioneering newsman, with a career spanning more than five decades. He reported wars, political stoushes, scandals and triumphs, travels into outer space … broke the news JFK was shot, and had died. Too much to list here.

He told the world how, when, and where it was changing. And was”the most trusted man in America”.

Cronkite with JFK

That voice.

Cronkite taught himself to speak at 124 words per minute – so his listeners could get the full picture.

And you can tell he loved his job. I particularly like this, when he was asked whether he enjoyed journalism he said, “Oh, my gosh, enjoyed immensely. And I went to work every morning absolutely delighted to get there. I could hardly wait to get there.”

Cronkite’s big stories – CBS News

Cronkite managed to stay true to journalism’s foundations. He could remain impartial.

“For many years, I did my best to report on the issues of the day in as objective a manner as possible. When I had my own strong opinions, as I often did, I tried not to communicate them to my audience. Now, however, my circumstances are different. I am in a position to speak my mind. And that is what I propose to do.”

Address to the UN on receiving the Norman Cousins Global Governance Award in 1999.

An incredible career, an incredible man.

Leave a Reply

  • If you would like to receive my posts hot off the press, please enter your email here.

    Join 3 other followers

  • Legals

    Please don't steal my text or my original pictures. I have attributed all images used to the appropriate owners. All rights reserved.
