Australia polarised by Angry Boys?

#AngryBoys premiere smashed it with 5,700+ Tweets in 30 minutes.” (TweeVee TV)

Chris Lilley’s long-anticipated series Angry Boys premiered on ABC1 last night. And to a mixed response and mostly through the web.

Today talkback radio switchboards lit up with both angry callers and those in awe of the series, ready to have a natter about why they loved it/hated it/were indifferent about it.

While I can understand that some of it can be seen as offensive, I myself did enjoy it (but not yet as much as Summer Heights High), and look forward to Lilley’s reveal of the rest of the characters. I think he is a multi-faceted, multi-talented artist who is VERY good at what he does.

Read about the premiere here and here at The Punch for two very different reviews.

Read about its trial by Twitter here at The Age and here at ABC Online.

What did you think of Angry Boys?

Ruth "Gran" Sims (From ABC Online)

Comments
2 Responses to “Australia polarised by Angry Boys?”
  1. SK says:

    Hey Amy I really liked it, I can see how people would be offended but I think it’s reality depicted in a funny and creative way. what are your thoughts?

    • Amy says:

      Hi Sarah, thanks for your commments. I have to say, as with all of Chris’ work, I truly enjoyed it and found it funny. I thought Gran was an absolute standout as a new character for this series. These are mostly real people we do see on the street. And I agree with you also.

Leave a Reply

  • If you would like to receive my posts hot off the press, please enter your email here.

    Join 2 other followers

  • Legals

    Please don't steal my text or my original pictures. I have attributed all images used to the appropriate owners. All rights reserved.
