People who love dogs, and the dogs that love them back

I myself, am guilty here. I absolutely adore dogs and would have a whole bunch if I could. For the moment it’s just Susie the family dog, a Cocker Spaniel sporting a coat in “blue roan.”  I’m sure there aren’t many people who don’t like dogs, so today’s post is about man’s best friend.

Susie as a baby in 1999

Susie in 2011

Like most Cockers, she can be a bit difficult. Headstrong and cunning. Easily bored by the attention we lavish upon her. But she is very sweet a lot of the time too, and is often up for a cuddle. Will eat anything, absolutely anything.

While it’s reported the English cocker spaniel has the worst attitude and could be the most aggressive dog breed (ABC Science) she hasn’t really exhibited these behavioural traits, which, I’m sure, can be fixed with good training. She’s a great companion and a real comfort to have around. She’s also an excellent singer.  Much like this little guy.

Audrey Hepburn once said the love one has for an animal is the purest emotion, and she and the beautiful Yorkie Mr Famous were inseparable.

Audrey and Mr Famous the Yorkie

In “Breakfast At Tiffany’s”, Audrey had to film a scene in which her brother Fred is killed while in the army – this distressed Mr Famous deeply.

“Miss Hepburn was called on to scream, throw things and sob. She was in full cry when the interruption came. The dog was ‘Famous’, her own Yorkshire Terrier, who normally waits patiently in the dressing room. When he heard Audrey scream he charged with bared fangs and threatening sqeaks. Famous weighs five pounds, but he was coming to the rescue.”

(p135 from Sarah Gristwood’s Breakfast at Tiffany’s, The Official 50th Anniversary Companion).

Also, next weekend Susie and I will be participating in the RSPCA Million Paws Walk. An excellent cause to raise funds for the RSPCA and the animals they lovingly care for. It’s just $12 for adults, $6 for kids, and $8 for concession, to do the walk and will be a really fun morning.

The RSPCA do fantastic work.

What is your best mate like?

RSPCA

Comments
2 Responses to “People who love dogs, and the dogs that love them back”
  1. bronnie says:

    I love dogs. So do my kids. My goal is to live on a farm where I can have loads of dogs and cats, and a menagerie of other animals. And enough money to care for them properly. Currently I am temporary Mum to a toy poodle who came with the house I’m renting, as well as an elderly cat, our own cat, birds, guinea pigs and fish. Will be lonely when we have to move on, even though our own kitteh is awesome

Leave a Reply

  • If you would like to receive my posts hot off the press, please enter your email here.

    Join 3 other followers

  • Legals

    Please don't steal my text or my original pictures. I have attributed all images used to the appropriate owners. All rights reserved.
